Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Questions About Flat Engines

Questions About Flat Engines

The little information that I have read about flat engines, specifically Porsche's flat-6 lead me to wonder why it is used at all. Other than it being a tradition in Porsche cars, I have read that flat-6's are larger than a similar displacement V-6 as they occupy a lot of horizontal room. From some sources I have also heard that flat engines are less rigid than V's. The only good thing going for flat engines seems to be that they have a low centre of gravity.

I am far from an engine expert, but I was wondering what exactly are the advantages of a flat engine, if there are any.

Furthermore, does anyone know why Porsche seem so adamant to stick to a rear mounted flat-6 in the 911 as opposed to a mid-engined flat-8 or even V-8 as some Porsche engineers have expressed interest in to better distribute weight? Is the flat-6 rear engine layout used only out of tradition?

Smoother and more compact from what I have heard...

Quote Originally Posted by The_Canuck View Post
    Smoother and more compact from what I have heard...
    I heard that they took up MORE volume!

Quote Originally Posted by Kitdy View Post
    I heard that they took up MORE volume!
    hmm, strange...

lower center of gravity though...

They have much less vibration, which makes it able to put out power easily, since the pistons practically cancel out each other's vibration. It seems to be a very good reason, I'm surprised it's used on so few cars.

The vibration is only in on one plane - horizontal, but V-8's are just as balanced so I have heard if they are angled at 90 degrees (pi/2 radians for math nerds ). I'm trying to be the devil's advocate here, but maybe one of the engineer type guys will clean this confusion up.