Salinas, Calif. - All four track qualifying records were broken Friday, highlighted by pole runs from the Zytek and the Porsche RS Spyder prototypes, in qualifying for the Monterey Sports Car Championships at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca.

Tom Chilton's record run of 1:14.185 around the 2.238-mile, 11-turn road course sent waves through the paddock and the crowd in attendance. It smashed the previous mark of 1:15.028 set in 2000 by Rinaldo Capello in an Audi R8.

This was the first ALMS pole for Chilton and kept the Zytek perfect in the ALMS for qualifying. Teammate Hayanari Shimoda sat on the pole at Mid-Ohio and Petit Le Mans earlier in the year, the Zytek's only other ALMS appearances this season.

"This is my first time here and it's a bit of a sand pit. Each lap is quite different," Chilton said. "Fortunately, it was the cleanest it's been all weekend, so it was nice to have that extra inch to push through the apex. I think I learned the course in the first five laps here, but you can never stop learning because the course changes so much."

Second was the No. 16 Dyson Racing Lola of Butch Leitzinger and James Weaver at 1:14.906, just ahead of the No. 20 sister car of Andy Wallace and Chris Dyson.

Following a disastrous crash on the opening turn of the first lap at Petit Le Mans two weeks ago that involved the Zytek, No. 1 Champion Racing Audi and the No. 16 Dyson, Chilton said Friday that he already has a plan in mind that hopefully will allow everyone to get through Turn 1 with no incidents.

"How I see it, I'm on the inside and just need to get a clean start," he said. "Not even JJ (Lehto) can pass somebody on the outside of a hairpin. I'm used to a lot of things happening on the first lap with my experience in the British Touring Car Series."